what are all the branches of christianity

what are all the branches of christianity插图

Best answer

Christianity is broadly split into three branches: Catholic, Protestant and (Eastern) Orthodox. The Catholic branch is governed by the Pope and Catholic bishops around the world. The Orthodox (or Eastern OrthodoxEastern Orthodox Church

People also ask

  • What are the different divisions of Christianity?

  • Christianity can be taxonomically divided into five main groups: the Church of the East, Oriental Orthodoxy, Eastern Orthodoxy, Catholicism, and Protestantism. Protestantism includes many groups which do not share any ecclesiastical governance and have widely diverging beliefs and practices.

  • What are the main sects of Christianity?

  • Christian denominations are different groups of Christians, believing in different interpretation of beliefs, different sets of rules and practices. There are various denominations of Christianity. The four main ones are Orthodox Christianity, Catholicism, Protestantism and Restorationism.

  • What are subdivisions within Christianity?

  • In the two millennia of its history Christianity has been divided by schism and roiled by heresy, based on doctrinal and organizational differences. Today there are three broad divisions, Roman Catholic, Orthodox Eastern, and Protestant; but within the category of Protestantism, there is a particularly large number of divergent denominations.

  • Is Christianity a branch of Catholicism?

  • Christianity is the religion having faith on Jesus Christ and his teachings. Catholicism is a branch of Christianity. The other divisions of Christianity are Protestant and Eastern Orthodox Churches. It is well known that Catholicism is a branch of Christianity.