what are the 3 major branches of christianity

what are the 3 major branches of christianity插图

People also ask

  • What are the two major divisions of Christianity?

  • Christianity (Religion): Divisions within the Religion. In the two millennia of its history Christianity has been divided by schism and roiled by heresy, based on doctrinal and organizational differences. Today there are three broad divisions, Roman Catholic, Orthodox Eastern, and Protestant; but within the category of Protestantism,…

  • What are the different branches of Christianity?

  • Christianity has many different branches and forms with accompanying variety in beliefs and practices. The three major branches of Christianity are Roman Catholicism, Eastern Orthodoxy, and Protestantism, with numerous subcategories within each of these branches. Until the latter part of the 20th century,…

  • What are the religious denominations in the US?

  • Explore religious groups in the U.S. by tradition, family and denomination Christian 70.6% Evangelical Protestant 25.4% Baptist Family (Evangelical Trad.) 9.2% Southern Baptist Convention 5.3% Mainline Protestant 14.7% Baptist Family (Mainline Trad.) 2.1% American Baptist Churches USA 1.5%

  • What are the different types of denominations?

  • Denominations share some, but not all of the features of churches. Examples of denominations include the Methodists, the Pentecostals and the Jehovah’s Witnesses. According to Neibuhr, denominations have about 6 characteristics: Like churches, denominations draw members from all sections of society: they are inclusive.