what are the three divisions of christianity

what are the three divisions of christianity插图

Best answer

In the two millennia of its history Christianity has been divided by schism and roiled by heresy,based on doctrinal and organizational differences. Today there are three broad divisions,Roman Catholic,Orthodox Eastern,and Protestant; but within the category of Protestantism,there is a particularly large number of divergent denominations.

People also ask

  • What are the three main denominations of Christianity?

  • Modern Christianity is made up of three main branches which are Eastern Orthodoxy, Roman Catholicism, and Protestantism. The Eastern Orthodox denomination is popularly practiced in the Eastern European countries as well as Russia.

  • How many branches of Christianity were there in ancient Persia?

  • Besides these two great branches of Christianity, there were the Nestorians in Persia. These were the three great divisions of so-called Christianity by the sixth century. Besides these three great divisions, there were many free groups.

  • What are the reasons for Division in Christianity?

  • 1 Pride. Being a Christian does not mean that you are free from pride. … 2 Misunderstanding. One of the reasons for division in Christianity is misunderstanding. … 3 Difference in personality, talents, and passions. … 4 Tradition. … 5 Division according to people. … 6 Lack of Knowledge. … 7 Jealousy. … 8 Human religious guides. …

  • What are the different branches of the Catholic Church?

  • Separate articles detail the history and doctrines of the Roman Catholic Church and Orthodox Eastern Church and of the other churches of ancient origin, the Armenian Church, the Coptic Church (see Copts ), the Jacobite Church, and the Nestorian Church.